VRUEC Members


Chair: Anne Petersen, DOE

Vice-Chair: Stephanie DeNicola, Culpeper SWCD

Secretary: Christy Deatherage, VMNH

Treasurer: Candace Lutzow-Felling, UVA Blandy

Membership: Sam Fisher, VT Extension


  • Chesapeake Bay Foundation (non-profit): Bill Portlock, Cindy Duncan

  • Claytor Nature Study Center/Lynchburg College: Dr. Greg Eaton, Danielle Racke

  • Dan River Basin Association (non-profit): Krista Hodges, Sonya Wolen

  • Department of Ag and Consumer Services: Kathryn Paxton

  • Department of Conservation and Recreation: Christen Miller

  • Department of Education: Anne Petersen

  • Department of Environmental Quality: Anne Regn, Virginia Witmer

  • Department of Forestry: Ellen Powell, Page Hutchinson

  • Department of Game and Inland Fisheries: Suzie Gilley, Carol Heiser Alex McCrickard

  • Department of Health: Maribeth Brewster

  • Department of Historic Resources: Laura Galke, Elizabeth Moore

  • Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy: Robin Jones

  • Department of Transportation: VACANT

  • George Mason University: Cindy Smith

  • Longwood University: Sherry Swinson

  • Mary Baldwin College: Dr. Tamra Willis

  • National Park Service/Shenandoah National Park: Tim Taglauer

  • NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office: Elise Trelegan

  • Science Museum of Virginia: Chuck English

  • State Arboretum of Virginia/Blandy Experimental Farm: Candace Lutzow-Felling

  • Virginia Museum of Natural History: Christy Deatherage

  • Virginia Association of Science Teachers: Shirley Sypott

  • Virginia Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts: Bonnie Mahl, Stephanie DeNicola

  • Virginia Institute of Marine Science: Sarah McGuire Nuss, Carol Hopper Brill, Lisa Lawrence

  • Virginia Marine Resources Commission: Alicia Nelson

  • Virginia Master Naturalist Program, Virginia Tech: Michelle Prysby

  • Virginia State University: Chantel Wilson

  • Virginia Cooperative Extension: Sam Fisher

  • Virginia Academy of Sciences (non-profit): Richard Groover, Phil Sheridan

  • Virginia Association of Environmental Education: Dan Cohen